AI Image Generation Models Compared for Real Design Work (2026 Guide)

Blog › AI Image Generation Models Compared for Real Design Work (2026 Guide)

AI DESIGN

AI Image Generation Models Compared for Real Design Work (2026 Guide)

Published about 4 hours ago by · 15 min read

You need a flyer by Friday, and what you got from your image generator is a pretty picture with the event date spelled wrong. That is the gap most rankings of AI image generation models never touch. They score models on how good a cinematic dragon looks, not on whether the phone number survives, the brand hex code holds, or the file prints cleanly at A4. This guide compares the ten models that matter in September 2026 on the things a flyer, poster, social or ad maker cares about.

How we compared AI image generation models

Most leaderboards run on aesthetic preference votes, which is useful for a mood board and close to useless for a menu. So we scored every model here on six criteria from real design work. The first is text rendering: can it write a headline, and separately, can it keep small copy like dates, prices and URLs readable at print sizes. The second is editing and references: can you fix one region without regenerating everything, and how many reference images keep a product or person consistent across a campaign. The third is resolution, and only what the vendor states publicly counts; third-party claims are left out.

The other three are practical. Access covers whether you get a consumer app, an API, open weights you can self-host, or an invite list. Price is roughly what one image costs through the API, or the subscription floor. Licensing covers watermarks, commercial-use clauses and revenue thresholds that could bite later. We also checked each model against Arena's text-to-image board and the Artificial Analysis image leaderboard, so you can see where community votes and design verdicts diverge.

Comparison grid of AI image generation models rendering the same concept in different styles

Quick comparison table

ModelMakerReleasedText renderingEditing / referencesMax verified resolutionWhere to use itPrice note
GPT-Image-2.5OpenAI8 Sep 2026Strong, multilingualPrecise localized edits, inpainting, transparent backgroundsNot statedChatGPT (all tiers, incl. free), APIApprox. $0.006 to $0.211 per 1024px image
Nano Banana 2 (Gemini 3.1 Flash Image)Google26 Feb 2026"Accurate, legible text for marketing mockups"Up to 5 characters and 14 objects for consistency4KGemini app, AI Studio, Google Ads, APIApprox. $0.067 (1K) to $0.151 (4K)
Nano Banana Pro (Gemini 3 Pro Image)Google20 Nov 2025Accurate, legible, multilingualUp to 14 reference images, 5 people, localized editing4KGemini app (free with quota), APIApprox. $0.134 (2K) / $0.24 (4K)
FLUX.2 family (max/pro/flex/klein)Black Forest LabsNov 2025; klein 15 Jan 2026Strong typographyMulti-reference editingNot statedHosted API; klein/dev open weightsApprox. $0.014 to $0.10 hosted
Midjourney V8.2 + Edit ModelMidjourney24 Jul 2026; Edit 27 Aug 2026Not its focus; fine for headlines, risky for small copyInpaint/outpaint, up to 4 references2K nativeWeb and DiscordFrom $10/month; revenue clause over $1M
Ideogram 4.0IdeogramJun 2026"Dense text rendering across languages", bounding-box placementEditable text layers, background remover2K nativeWeb app, APIApprox. $0.03 / $0.06 / $0.10
Recraft V4.1 / V4.1 VectorRecraft14 May 2026Typography-focusedInpainting, background removal, custom stylesNot statedWeb app, APINot public
Seedream 5.0 ProByteDance9 Jul 2026Text in 14 languagesRegion edits (lasso/box/sketch), layer separation, 2 to 10 referencesNot statedfal, BytePlus ModelArk, DreaminaVaries by host
Qwen-Image-3.0Alibaba22 Jul 2026"Text as small as 10px", 12 languagesNot statedNot statedInvite-only API, closed weightsNot public
Grok Imagine Image 2.0xAI7 Aug 2026"Small text comes out sharp"Magic-wand regional edits, up to 5 references, smart resize across 9 ratiosNot statedgrok.com/imagine, iOS/Android, console.x.aiAPI via console.x.ai

The models, one by one

1. GPT-Image-2.5 (OpenAI)

Released on 8 September 2026, GPT-Image-2.5 builds on the "improved text rendering, multilingual support" that ChatGPT Images 2.0 introduced in April, and OpenAI's launch post adds "more precise editing, editing only what you've asked for." Inpainting and transparent backgrounds are built in, which matters if you want a product cutout for your own layout.

It is available in ChatGPT on every tier, including free, and the API prices at roughly $0.006 to $0.211 per 1024px image depending on quality. OpenAI does not publish a maximum resolution, so we don't either.

Verdict: the best all-rounder right now, and as of September 2026 it sits at or near the top of the Arena leaderboard. Headline text is reliable; small copy is worth a second look before you print.

2. Nano Banana 2 (Gemini 3.1 Flash Image, Google)

Nano Banana 2 shipped on 26 February 2026 and is the fast, cheap half of Google's pair. Google's pitch is "accurate, legible text for marketing mockups", and it holds up to five characters and 14 objects consistently across a set of images, which is what a product carousel needs. Output runs from 512px up to 4K.

You get it in the Gemini app, AI Studio and Google Ads, and the API costs about $0.067 for 1K and $0.151 for 4K. Nano Banana 2 Lite (Gemini 3.1 Flash-Lite Image) has been generally available since 30 June 2026 at about $0.0336 per image, per the Google Cloud blog.

Verdict: the best price-to-quality ratio for volume work.

3. Nano Banana Pro (Gemini 3 Pro Image, Google)

Nano Banana Pro arrived on 20 November 2025 and is still Google's most controllable model. It renders "more accurate, legible text in multiple languages", takes up to 14 reference images and keeps up to five people consistent, and supports localized editing. It outputs at 2K and 4K.

It is free in the Gemini app with a usage quota, and the API runs about $0.134 for 2K and $0.24 for 4K, the most expensive Google option per image.

Verdict: for real people, real products and print sizes, this is the Google model to use.

4. FLUX.2 family (Black Forest Labs)

FLUX.2 launched in November 2025 in [max], [pro] and [flex] tiers, and the small [klein] model followed on 15 January 2026. The family is known for strong typography and multi-reference editing, and klein and dev ship as open weights you can run on your own hardware. Hosted pricing sits around $0.014 to $0.10 per image, per the release notes on docs.bfl.ml.

FLUX 3, announced on 23 July 2026, promises "high-accuracy text in multiple languages" but is early access only, so for now FLUX.2 is what you can use.

Verdict: the best choice if you need open weights and readable text in the same model.

5. Midjourney V8.2 and the Edit Model

Midjourney V8.2 landed on 24 July 2026, and the separate Edit Model followed on 27 August, replacing Omni Reference with inpainting, outpainting and up to four reference images. Output is 2K native, and you use it on the web or in Discord from $10 a month; the revenue clause in Midjourney's terms is covered in the licensing section below.

Verdict: still the model people reach for when the image has to feel like art. Use it for the hero visual and set the text elsewhere.

6. Ideogram 4.0

Ideogram 4.0 launched in June 2026 with "dense text rendering across languages" as the headline feature, plus bounding-box text placement, so you can tell it where the headline goes. It ships a background remover and editable text layers, and outputs at native 2K. API pricing runs around $0.03, $0.06 and $0.10 per image across three tiers.

Verdict: if the text is the point of the image, a typographic poster or a quote card, test Ideogram 4.0 first.

7. Recraft V4.1 and V4.1 Vector

Recraft V4.1 shipped on 14 May 2026 alongside V4.1 Vector, which generates native SVG rather than pixels. Typography is the focus, and the toolset includes inpainting, background removal and custom styles, according to the Recraft blog. Pricing is not public.

Verdict: the only model on the list that hands you a real vector file, which for logos and icons outweighs everything else.

8. Seedream 5.0 Pro (ByteDance)

Seedream 5.0 Pro, released on 9 July 2026, renders text in 14 languages and has the most designer-shaped editing on the list: region edits by lasso, box or sketch, layer separation, and 2 to 10 references. You reach it through fal, BytePlus ModelArk and Dreamina, and pricing depends on the host.

Verdict: strong for multilingual campaigns and for anyone who wants layers back out of a generated image.

9. Qwen-Image-3.0 (Alibaba)

Announced on 22 July 2026, Qwen-Image-3.0 claims "text as small as 10px" across 12 languages, per the Alibaba Cloud blog, the boldest small-text claim any vendor has made this year. Editing features are not stated. The catch is access: the API is invite-only and the weights are closed.

Verdict: worth a look the moment you can get in, especially for dense infographics. Until then, a model to watch.

10. Grok Imagine Image 2.0 (xAI)

Grok Imagine Image 2.0 shipped on 7 August 2026 with a design-specific feature list: "small text comes out sharp", magic-wand regional edits, up to five references, transparent backgrounds, and smart resize that recomposes one image across nine aspect ratios. It lives at grok.com/imagine, in the iOS and Android apps, and via API at console.x.ai. xAI does not state a maximum resolution.

Verdict: the smart resize alone makes it useful for adapting one ad into story, feed and banner sizes.

Also on the leaderboards: Microsoft's MAI-Image-2.6 (August 2026), Reve 2.1 (July 2026), Meta's Muse Image (July 2026) and Adobe Firefly. On the open-weight side, Stability AI's latest verified release is still Stable Diffusion 3.5.

Best model by design job

Design jobFirst pickRunner-upWhy
FlyersNano Banana ProGPT-Image-2.54K covers A4 at 300 DPI; reliable headline text
PostersNano Banana ProFLUX.2 [max]4K output, and FLUX for typographic styles
Social postsNano Banana 2Grok Imagine Image 2.0Cheap per image; Grok's smart resize for 9 ratios
AdsGPT-Image-2.5Seedream 5.0 ProPrecise edits, transparent cutouts; Seedream for 14 languages
Text-heavy graphicsIdeogram 4.0Qwen-Image-3.0 (when you can get in)Bounding-box text placement; 10px text claim
Logos and vectorRecraft V4.1 VectorIdeogram 4.0Native SVG output; editable text layers
Art-led hero visualsMidjourney V8.2FLUX.2 [pro]Aesthetic quality; Edit Model for inpaint/outpaint
Self-hosted / open weightsFLUX.2 [klein]Stable Diffusion 3.5Runs locally, no per-image fee

Text rendering: headline text vs small copy

Every vendor on this list says its model renders text well, and for a five-word headline they are mostly right. The problem is everything small: the date, the price, the URL, the phone number. Those carry the information, and models still fumble them.

For headlines, GPT-Image-2.5, Nano Banana Pro, Ideogram 4.0 and FLUX.2 [max] all produce clean, correctly spelled display text most of the time. For small copy, the field narrows to the models that make an explicit claim: Qwen-Image-3.0's 10px claim, Grok's "small text comes out sharp", and Ideogram 4.0's dense-text rendering. Even then, check every digit before it goes out.

The trick that saves the most time is to stop asking the model for small text at all. Generate the background or product shot, and add the date, price and URL as real text in a layout tool, where it stays editable and spelled right. We cover the workflows in how to add readable text to AI images.

Magnifier over tiny copy on an AI-generated flyer, showing why small text needs a layout tool

Resolution and print: pixels to 300 DPI

Print shops want 300 dots per inch. Multiply the paper size in inches by 300 and you get a hard pixel count that most AI image generation models don't hit.

OutputSizePixels needed at 300 DPI2K model (2048px long side)4K model (4096px long side)
Instagram post1080 x 1080 px1080 x 1080FineFine
US Letter8.5 x 11 in2550 x 3300No (about 186 DPI)Yes
A4210 x 297 mm2480 x 3508No (about 175 DPI)Yes
A3297 x 420 mm3508 x 4961NoNo (about 248 DPI), upscale needed

For anything you hand to a printer at A4 or Letter, only the 4K models cover it without upscaling: Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2. A 2K image from Midjourney or Ideogram is fine for screens, but you will be upscaling for a poster, and A3 needs an upscaler whichever model you use.

Generate at the final aspect ratio rather than cropping later, and if a social image might end up in print, pay for 4K up front.

Pixel grid scaling up into a printed A4 sheet, illustrating 300 DPI resolution for AI images

Licensing, watermarks and commercial use

A good image is not automatically one you can safely use in an ad. Three things to check first.

Watermarks and provenance. Google says Gemini image outputs carry a SynthID watermark, and OpenAI attaches C2PA metadata and SynthID to its image outputs (see openai.com/research/verify). Neither restricts commercial use; it means the image can be identified as AI-generated if someone checks, which is worth raising with a client upfront.

Midjourney's revenue clause. Per docs.midjourney.com, if your company makes more than $1M a year, you need the Pro or Mega plan to use outputs commercially. A $10 Basic plan does not cover an agency working for enterprise clients.

Open weights are not automatically free for business. FLUX.2 [klein] and [dev] and Stable Diffusion 3.5 each ship with their own licence, and research and commercial terms differ. Read the licence file before you build a product on the weights.

Nano Banana Pro prompts that work for design

These prompts give you a usable asset rather than a finished-looking image you cannot edit. Each one leaves space for text and stays off small copy. For more, see 50 AI image prompts for marketing.

Background for a flyer: "Soft gradient background in deep violet fading to warm orange, subtle paper texture, wide empty area in the upper two thirds for a headline, no text, 4K, portrait."

Hero image for a landing page: "Overhead shot of a walnut desk with a ceramic coffee cup, an open notebook and a small potted plant, morning window light from the left, shallow depth of field, empty space on the right half, no text."

Product scene: "Studio product photo of a matte black water bottle on a pale sand-colored plinth, soft shadow, warm rim light, plain background, centered, 4K, square."

Texture for a poster: "Repeating tile of crumpled kraft paper with faint ink splatter, muted warm tones, high detail, no objects, no text."

Flat illustration for a social post: "Flat vector illustration of three people around a table planning on a laptop, limited palette of violet, orange and cream, rounded shapes, generous whitespace at the top, no text."

Why the model isn't the design

A model gives you a picture. A design is a picture plus a headline that is spelled right, a date you can change on Thursday, a logo in the corner, and your exact brand hex values. None of the ten models above produce that; Ideogram's text layers and Seedream's layer separation are steps toward it, not the finished thing.

That is why the practical workflow in 2026 is two steps. Generate the background, the product scene or the illustration with whichever model fits the job, then build the layout around it in a tool that treats text as text and colors as brand tokens. Tools like Krumzi generate the image, build the flyer or carousel around it with your brand kit applied, and keep every element editable, so a price change is a two-second edit. From Claude, the Krumzi MCP exposes generate_ai_image and generate_design as separate tools; we explain that setup in can Claude generate images.

For social, the branded AI images for social media guide covers keeping a set of posts consistent once the images are in hand. The model is responsible for the pixels, and the layout tool for everything a customer reads.

AI-generated image being placed into a layered layout with brand color swatches and editable text

Frequently Asked Questions

Which AI image model is best for text in images?

For headline text, GPT-Image-2.5, Nano Banana Pro, Ideogram 4.0 and FLUX.2 [max] are all dependable in September 2026. For small copy, Ideogram 4.0, Grok Imagine Image 2.0 and Qwen-Image-3.0 (invite-only) make the strongest claims. Whatever you pick, add dates, prices and URLs as real text in a layout tool rather than trusting the model.

Nano Banana vs ChatGPT Images for design work: which one?

Nano Banana Pro wins on resolution (4K) and references (14 images, 5 people), so it is the pick for print and for campaigns with recurring products or people. GPT-Image-2.5 wins on precise localized editing, transparent backgrounds and being free in ChatGPT. For volume social work, Nano Banana 2 is cheaper per image than either.

What resolution do I need for print?

Multiply the paper size in inches by 300. A4 needs 2480 x 3508 pixels, US Letter needs 2550 x 3300, and A3 needs 3508 x 4961. Only the 4K models (Nano Banana Pro and Nano Banana 2) cover A4 and Letter without upscaling, and A3 needs an upscaler regardless.

Can I use AI images commercially?

Usually yes, with conditions. Google says Gemini image outputs carry a SynthID watermark, OpenAI attaches C2PA metadata and SynthID to its outputs, Midjourney requires a Pro or Mega plan for companies over $1M in revenue, and open-weight models each have their own licence terms. Keep the prompt and model name on file with each image.

Which open-weight image models can I run locally?

FLUX.2 [klein] and [dev] from Black Forest Labs and Stable Diffusion 3.5 from Stability AI are the verified open-weight options. FLUX 3 is early access only as of September 2026. Check the licence that ships with each model before using it for commercial work.

Stop spending hours on Canva.

Describe the design you need and Krumzi builds it in seconds, already in your brand colors and fonts. Fully editable, ready to publish.

Start Your Free Trial

Or browse all the AI design tools

Related Articles